Home

Interviewer________________Miss Irene Robertson Person interviewed     Lillie Baccua» Madison. Arkansas Age  75 “I’ll tell you what I heard* I was too little to remember the Civil War* Mama’s owner was _______ Dillard* She called him ‘Masterf Dillard* Papa’s owner was _____ Staiith* He called him ‘Master* Smith* Mama was named Ann and papa Arthur Smith* I was born at West Point, Mississippi* I heard ma say she was sold* She said Fattick sold her* She had to leave her two children Cherry and Ann* Mama was a field hand* So was grandma yet she worked in the house some she said* After freedom Cherry and *rm come to mama* She was going to be sold agin but was freed before sold* “Mama didn’t live only till I was about three years old, so I don’t Jcaow enough to tell you about her* Grandma raised us* She was sold twice* She said she run out of the house to pick up a star when the stars fell* They showered down and disappeared* “The Yankees camped close to where they lived, close to West Pointf Mississippi, but in the country close to an artesian well* The well was on their place* The Yankees stole grandma and kept her at their tent* They meant to take her on to wait on them and use but when they started to move old master spicioned they had her hid down there* He watched out and seen her when they was going to load her up* He went and got the head man to make them give her up* She was so glad to come home* Glad to see him cause she wanted to see him* They watched her so close she was afraid they would shoot her leaving* She lived to be 101 years old* She raised me* «..       77 She used to tell how the overseer would whip her in the field* They wasn’t good to her in that way* *I have three living children and eleven dead. I married twice* My first husband is living* My second husband is dead* I married in day time in the church the last time* 111 else ever took place in my life was hard work# I worked in the field till I was too old to hit a tap* I live wid my children* I get #8 and commodities* *I come to -Arkansas because they said money was easy to get—growed on bushes* I had four little children to make a living for and they said it was easier* *I think people is better than they was long time ago* Times is harder* People have to buy everything they have as high as they is, makes money scarce nearly bout a place as hen’s teeth* Hens ain’t got no teeth* We don’t have much money I tell you# The Welfare gives me #8*”

http://memory.loc.gov/mss/mesn/021/021.1.txt 

Leave a Reply

