Home

“I jined de St. Paul Baptist Chu’ch over in Louisiana an’ I’se been a Baptist   ever’ since. Yes’m, I’se been mar’ied an’ got a whole raft er chullun, but I   don’t know anything ’bout ’em. I’se tol’ some of ’em might be in California.   God knows whar dey be.

  “My wife lef’ me twenty years ago. I’se been livin’ in Amite County ’bout   thirty years, maybe more. I live wid my daughter-in-law, Melissa. My son went   off an’ lef’ her an’ we live on Mr. John McGehee’s place. I can’t work. I’se   blin’ in one eye an’ almos’ blin’ in de other. I git a li’l suppo’t frum good   white folks, who give me somepin’ now an’ den. An’ sometime de ‘lief helps me.   People are mighty good to me.

  “Fo’ you go I want to tell you dat not all de white folks was mean to dey   slaves. Some of ’em was mighty kin’ an’ good, so I is tol’. But mine was   mighty mean.

  “Missus, fo’ you go I want to tell you I tries to be a Christian, an’ I don’t   wish nobody no harm, but somehow I know Miss Elviry was punished befo’ she   died. She sho’ was sorry fer de way she treated her darkies. I’se had a hard   time all my life, but I hopes to res’ easy when I die.”

  Interviewer: Unknown
  Transcribed by: Ann Allen Geoghegan

  Mississippi Narratives
  Prepared by
  The Federal Writer’s Project of
  The Works Progress Administration
  For the State of Mississippi

http://msgw.org/slaves/ashley-xslave.htm

Leave a Reply

