Home

“Since I come to Mississippi I’s been right here at dis place fifty-one years   de 12th day November, 1937. I’s allus farmed fo’ a livin’ an’ has also   bottomed chairs, made baskets an’ built dirt chimneys. They ain’t many folks   my age what’ll get far ’nuff off de ground to build a chimney. De Lord takes   care o’ me tho’. Heep o’ folks I’s worked fo’ ain’t never paid me but dats up   to dem an’ de Lord. They de one what’ll have to give account fo dat. Christ   say when ever we do de thin’ right no evil shall rest upon you.”

http://msgw.org/slaves/murray-henry-xslave.htm

Leave a Reply

