Home

“Me an’ my sister used to slip in de dinin’ room where de white folks was   eatin an ask fo’ biscuits. I ‘member one time all de white folks went off an’   I slipped in de kitchen an’ was eatin me some biscuit, butter an’ ‘lasses when   I thought I heard somebody comin’. I jumped to run an stepped on de cat an’   killed him dead. I told my Mammy what I had done an she told me if I didn’t   take that cat to de woods an’ chop his head off he’d sho’ come back an’ haunt   me that night. I took dat cat an de ax an sho separated his head from his   body.”

http://msgw.org/slaves/sugg-xslave.htm

Leave a Reply

