Home

After the war was over and my mammy had come got me away from old Miss, we   lived where the soldiers was camping. My mammy cooked and washed for them. The   Ku Klux Klan didn’t bother us none. They might have been scared to come   around, on account of them soldiers. Schools was started for the colored   folks. They was taught by a white man from the North. Everybody had a blue   back book. I lived right there till I married a man by the name of Sam   Washington. We moved to Rosedale to live. From there we moved to Friars Point.   My husband worked at the oil mill and I took in washing. I ain’t never worked   a day in the field in my life. From there we moved to Louisville, Kentucky. My   husband had a good job working in a saloon, and I was maid for the saloon   keeper’s wife. I lost my husband while I was living there. At that time I had   three children living. Two boys and a girl. Both boys were living in Chicago,   so they sent for me to come live with them. I stayed with them ’till my   married daughter living in Clarksdale got sick and I came here to nurse her. I   took care of her till she died. She had one son, Henry. He is the only   grandchild I got, and I would be much better off if I didn’t have him. He got   all his ma’s things, and wouldn’t give me nothing, even so much as a fork to   eat with. He put me out of the house. Had the police after me. Said I got   after him with a knife when he was the one got after me. That boy is something   awful. Whatever will become of him, the Lord Almighty knows. My youngest son,   Mitchell, done got down with the T.B. He has been in the hospital in Chicago   now for five or six years. My other son sends a little money to care for me   whenever he can. That’s why I is living on relief. Since I has had my stroke,   I ain’t able to do nothing. If it was slavery time now, I would sure be better   off. No rent, to pay, and nobody have to stand for my doctor’s bill. The white   ladies treats me good, and the meat market man gives me scraps of meat for my   stew. Thats more than the folks got after the war, and they was expecting   forty acres and a mule

http://msgw.org/slaves/washington-callie-xslave.htm

Leave a Reply

