Home

Master looked after the place his self. He wouldn’t have no overseer cause he   said they was too mean to the slaves. He had a colored man for driver. I did   know his name, but its gone out of my ‘membrance now. There was plenty poor   white trash living around us, but old Miss sure wouldn’t low me to play with   them. She tell me, if she catch me with them children, she going to wear me   plumb out, but she ain’t never so much as struck me with a feather in all the   days of my life.

http://msgw.org/slaves/washington-callie-xslave.htm

Leave a Reply

