Home

“All dis generation [1930’s?] thinks of is ’musement. I neber had seen a show in
my whole life ’tell jes’ dis pas’ yeah when one of dem carnival things
wid de swings, and lights, and all de doin’s dey have stop right in
front of our house heah.
http://archive.org/stream/slavenarrativesa36020gut/36020-0.txt
“And I ain’t neber been in no trouble in all my life—ain’t been in no
lawsuits, and ain’t been no witness eben. I allus treat ebrybody as good
as I kin, and I uses my manners as good as I knows how, and de Lawd sho’
has took good keer of me. Why, w’en my house burnt up, de white folks
helped me so dat in no time you couldn’t tell I ebber los’ a thing.

“But, honey, de good ole days is now gone foreber. De ole days was
railly de good times. How I wish I could go back to de days w’en we
lived at Johnson’s landing on de riber, when de folks would come to
ketch de steamboats and we neber knowed how many to put on breakfas’,
dinner or supper fo’, cause de boats mought be behin’ times. I ain’t
neber had to pay a fare to ride a steamboat needer. I was a good lookin’
yaller gal in dem days and rid free wherever I wanted to go.

“But whut’s de use dreamin’ ’bout de ole times? Dey’s gone, and de world
is gettin’ wicked’er and wicked’er, sin grows bolder and bolder, and
‘ligion colder and colder.”

 

Leave a Reply

