Home

“One day I was workin’ in de field and de overseer he come ’roun and say
sumpin’ to me he had no bizness say. I took my hoe and knocked him plum
down. I knowed I’se done sumpin’ bad so I run to de bushes. Marster
Lucas come and got me and started whoopin’ me. I say to Marster Lucas
whut dat overseer sez to me and Marster Lucas didn’ hit me no more.
Marse Lucas was allus good to us and he wouldn’ let nobody run over his
niggers.

http://archive.org/stream/slavenarrativesa36020gut/36020-0.txt

Leave a Reply

