Home

“In all de years since de war I cannot forget old massa. He was good and
kind. He never believed in slavery but his money was tied up in slaves
and he didn’t want to lose all he had.

“I knows I will see him in heaven and even though I have to walk ten
miles for a bite of bread I can still be happy to think about the good
times we had then. I am a Confederate veteran but my house burned up wid
de medals and I don’t get a pension.

http://archive.org/stream/slavenarrativesa36020gut/36020-0.txt

Leave a Reply

