Home

“Our Marster wuz sho good to all his ’niggers’,” she said. “Us allus had
plenty to eat and plenty to wear, but de days now is hard, if white
folks gin you a nickel or dime to git you sumpin’ t’ eat you has to
write everything down in a book before you can git it. I allus worked in
the field, had to carry big logs, had strops on my arms and them logs
was put in de strop and hauled to a pile where they all was. One morning
hit was rainin’ ad I didn’ wanna go to the field, but de oversee’ he
come and got me and started whooping me. I jumped on him and bit and
kicked him ’til he lemme go. I didn’t know no better then. I didn’t know
he was de one to do dat.

http://archive.org/stream/slavenarrativesa36020gut/36020-0.txt

Leave a Reply

