Home

“Us used de white folks’ church in de morning. I j’ined de church den,
’cause I always tried to live right and wid de Lord.

“When de Yankees come through Dadeville, Ala., us heard ’bout hit and
Marsa hid his money and lots of his fine things in de colored folks’s
houses. Dey never found ’em neither.

“Lemme see who I married? I mighty nigh forgot who it was I did marry.
Now, I knows. Hit was Prince Hodnett.

“No’m, I don’t want no more slavery. I hope dey don’t have no more such,
’cause hit was terrible.

http://archive.org/stream/slavenarrativesa36020gut/36020-0.txt

Leave a Reply

