Home

“My father was took away. My mother said he was put on a block and sold ’cause     de master wanted money to buy something for de house. My told me she come     from Virginia or down south some place. Dey brought her in a box care with     lots of other colored people. Dere was several cars full, with men in one     car, women in another, and de younger ones in another, and de babies in another     with some of the women to care for dem. Dey bought dem to Palmyra and sold     dem. Master Kly bought my mother. I don’t know where my father come from.

http://fcit.usf.edu/florida/docs/s/slave/slave06.htm

Leave a Reply

